Social Security Treaty Between Spain And Romania – January 24, 2006

20 January 2009

Ratified on January 15, 2007 by the Spanish monarch, King Juan Carlos I.

Following the recent incorporation of Romania and Bulgaria on January 1, 2007, the EU now has 27 members. The EU enlargement encompassing Eastern European countries opens the door to new markets, but also to the arrival of new workers from the East. The Romanian community in Spain is the fourth largest behind that of Morocco, Ecuador and Colombia and it was therefore necessary for both countries to come to an agreement as regards Social Security.

The ample protection provided workers of one country or the other when in the other Party’s territory is noteworthy under treaty. Thus, for example, citizens of one of the countries, as well as their family members or survivors, can benefit from Social Security legislation in the territory of the other party under the same conditions as citizens of the latter. This protection includes both Social Security services as well as pensions.

Both the workers and their families will have the right to health care in the other country as long as they fulfil requirements for same in their own country. Of course, any assistance rendered is to be reimbursed by the pertinent institutions.

This treaty went into effect on February 14, 2007, 30 days after it was ratified.

For further information, please contact Eduardo Frutos Ramírez: